Parts of Speech


Parts of Speech (POS)


What is “POS”?

POS is an acronym for “Parts of Speech”. Every sentence must have a subject and a predicate. The parts of speech explain how a word is used in a sentence.

There are eight major parts of speech in English grammar. Listed below are the 8 parts of speech.

1. Noun
2. Pronoun
3. Verb
4. Adverb
5. Adjective
6. Conjunction
7. Preposition
8. Interjection

Understanding the different parts of speech is important in understanding how words can and should be joined together to make sentences that are both grammatically correct and readable. An understanding of the parts of speech is also important for knowing how to correctly punctuate sentences.

Over the next eight weeks, dfoww will cover each of the eight parts of speech. Every Monday, our online writing workshop will cover one of the parts of speech, until we have completed all 8 parts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.